Do Vegetarians Eat Caviar?

This post contains affiliate links. Affiliate disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, we may earn commissions from qualifying purchases from and other Amazon websites.

Many vegetarians are okay with eating chicken eggs since it is a product of an animal, not itself an animal. A common confusion among people is whether vegetarians are comfortable with eating fish eggs!

Some say we do not need to cut and open a hen to get eggs, but in case of fish, they need to be killed to get their eggs. Hence, fish eggs can’t come in the list of vegetarian foods.

But, does this statement sounds convincing or satisfying to get the answer to do vegetarians eat Caviar?

Special techniques are used to harvest eggs from fish without killing them due to advancements in science. It can be done by using the procedure of ultrasound to check whether the eggs are ready to get the best Caviar from the sturgeon. By the way, this process is very comfortable for the fish because only a tiny is made to massage out the eggs.

Is Caviar Vegetarian?

Caviar can be assumed for consumption or not; it all depends on your category of vegetarian! There is a vast diversity in the choice of eating among millions of people on earth. So the vegetarians are divided into the following types;

– Vegan (People who don’t eat any derived animal products)

– Vegetarian (Those who can consume milk, egg, or honey)

– Pescatarian (Only eat seafood or fish for health purposes)

– Flexitarian (Who rarely eat fish or meat).

Among the above kind’s flexitarian and pescatarian can eat Caviar. Also, an individual’s choice depends on many factors. It includes the type of allergies, any health issues, cultural bonding, personal ethics, and much more.

What is Caviar?

do vegetarians eat caviarCaviar can be understood as eggs extracted mainly from sturgeon fish. It is available in several varieties, depending on the type of fish from which it was derived. Caviar is different from roe(a term used to indicate fish eggs). So the roe can belong to various fish species and can be used to make different types of substitute caviars.

It tastes almost like oysters! Experts generally advised not to use metal spoons while serving them. It is because together that has a slightly acidic reaction and can change the overall taste of a dish. So pearl spoons can best do the job in this scenario!

You can use one among different varieties of Caviar as per your need of taste like whether you need more buttery, creamy, mild, or salty flavor. You can find two common Caviar grades in the market, depending on their flavor, texture, and size;

Grade-1: These are more expensive and contains large intact eggs that are firm.

Grade-2: These are not well-formed eggs and less delicate, generally cheaper.

In some caviar, you can get salty with a slightly sweet, little nutty, buttery taste in the mouth after consuming these small eggs. But, in others, it tastes like more fishy and briny in flavor.


Caviar is a Persian term that means egg-bearing. Many nations are using the same word to mention roe of other kinds of sturgeon, carp, whitefish, lumpfish, trout, steelhead, and salmon fishes.

Is caviar vegetarian? Ultimately, it is up to you if you want to follow your morals or culture not to eat eggs of any kind, then it is better that you should refrain from Caviar. Otherwise, it can be like chicken eggs that most of the populous on earth are consuming, especially to add protein in their daily meals.

One ounce of serving can deliver about 71 calories to the consumer and also a cholesterol booster. Caviar is rich in omega-3 fatty acids and iron. So, if you are advised for a low-salt diet, you need to be careful in consuming Caviar, and it should be in less to moderate amount in your meal. One spoon of Caviar can supply enough vitamin B12 to an adult.

Get more stuff

Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.

Leave a Comment